18 Jul 2017

Andrew Ford ’17 Latest To Be Awarded National Merit Schoalrship

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation released its fourth and final list of scholarship recipients for 2017, and four Baton Rouge area students from four different high schools were on the list.

CHS graduate Andrew Ford ’17, is the latest memeber of the class to be awarded a National Merti Scholarship. Ford joins Matthew Berdon, Michael Krzystowczyk, Jordan LeBas, Brian Long, Harold Miller, Nicholas Mueller and Andrew Schoonmaker, who were previously named scholarship recipients.

To qualify for a National Merit Scholarship, a student must make a PSAT score that ranks in the nationÕs top one percent. Qualifying students must also submit a detailed scholarship application, including a written essay on leadership positions and contribution to school and community activities. On average, 15,000 students are chosen as National Merit Finalists, and only about half of those students are chosen to receive National Merit Scholarships.