03 Nov 2015

CHS Celebrates a “Boogie Down to Spooky Town” Homecoming

CHS hosted its annual Homecoming dance on Saturday, October 31 in the CHS gym. Despite several inches of rainfall, the dance was wildly successful.

“Part of the responsibility of being on Student Council is to adjust to any circumstances that may be thrown your way. The entire Council, teachers and parent volunteers did a great job in response to the inclement weather and helped make the night an enjoyable one,íñ said student council member Lance Rodriguez.

The rainfall added another dimension to this yearí´s theme, íÍBoogie Down to Spooky Town.íñ Cobwebs, magic potion bottles, candles and carved pumpkins covered the campus.  The Boogiemen, a band based out of New Orleans, rocked the crowd the whole night. CHS sold over 750 tickets and nearly 1,500 people were in attendance. 

“The dance was a blast,” said junior Matthew Snellgrove. “The band was lively, everyone was dancing, and it was just an overall wonderful night.”

Prior to Friday nightí´s kick off at the Homecoming game against Dutchtown, the Homecoming Court was presented on the field. All five members of the Court are seniors at St. Josephí´s Academy. Members of the 2015 Homecoming Court are: Miss Caroline Paige Babin, daughter of Kevin and Paige Babin; Miss Claire Kraemer Couvillion, daughter of Jean and Marc Couvillion; Miss Eleanor Marie Koonce, Daughter of Edy and Jeff Koonce; Miss Michaela Mary Mitchell, daughter of Michelle and Horace Mitchell; and Miss McKenzie Layne Tucker-Gosnell, daughter of Kevin and Lori Day and Scott Gosnell.

Miss Michaela Mary Mitchell was crowed the 2015 Homecoming Queen. Michaela is a four year member of the Choir, the Latin Club, Liturgy Choir and the SJA Track and Field Team.  She is also a member of Beta Club, the Historical and Geographical Society, National Honor Society and Science Club.  Michaela has served on Student Council for the past two years and is a Student Minister.  She is also on the Steering Committee for SJAí´s Ambassadors and is the Choir Secretary.  Michaela has earned the Service Award for three years.