16 Dec 2014

CHS/SJA Band Members Selected for Honor Band

Members of the CHS/SJA Band, along with 400 other high school kids, auditioned for a spot on the District IV Band Directors’ Association Honor Band. 

Three CHS/SJA Band members were selected to the Symphonic Band, the top honor. Those selected were Roman Corripio, 6th chair clarinet; Clay Kershaw, 3rd chair trombone; and Blaine Bonis, string bass.

Five members were selected for the Concert Band. Those selected were Isabella Galindo (SJA), 12th chair clarinet; Sean Methvin, 1st chair alto sax; Michael Marquette, 5th chair trumpet; Therese Arceneaux (SJA), 9th chair trumpet; and Carmelo Riazuelo, 1st chair French horn.

Those receiving alternate spots were Joe Stassi, oboe; Thomas Broussard, tenor sax; Ray Eaglin, trumpet; Miguel Clouatre, French horn; and Lewis Poche, percussion.

The Honor Band performance weekend will be the second weekend in January and will be held at Southeastern Louisiana University.