10 May 2017

CHS Students Excel on National Latin Exam

Fifty-four Latin students won awards for their outstanding performance on the 2017 National Latin Exam in March. The NLE is an annual academic contest sponsored by the American Classical League and the National Junior Classical League. More than 150,000 students across the country and the world participate in the exam. Questions cover topics on Latin grammar, reading comprehension, mythology, derivatives, literature, Roman life, history, geography, oral Latin and Latin in use in the modern world.

These young Latin scholars will be honored at the Academic Convocation in the Fall.

Latin II students Grant Alumbaugh Õ19, Hunter Doiron Õ19 and Philip Tullier Õ19 were among the very few students (less than 1 percent) in the world to achieve a perfect score! They will each receive a special award for this distinction. 

Thomas Hertel, Gold Summa Cum Laude
James Lauve, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Jacob Brown, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Cade Acosta, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Christian Thompson, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Nicholas Khemmanyvong, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Joshua Langlois, Magna Cum Laude
Nicholas Landry, Cum Laude
Robert Otterstetter, Cum Laude
Ian Moggio, Cum Laude
William Sanford, Cum Laude

Philip Tullier, Gold Summa Cum Laude & Perfect Paper
Hunter Doiron, Gold Summa Cum Laude & Perfect Paper
Grant Alumbaugh, Gold Summa Cum Laude & Perfect Paper
Joseph Mengis, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Tytan Henley, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Marshall St. Amant, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Sebastian Cordova, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Grant Adams, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Colin McGlynn, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Andrew Stassi, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
David Culotta, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Sean McDaniel, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
James Lindquist, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
John Perez, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Francis Dinh, Magna Cum Laude
Miles Aycock, Magna Cum Laude
Joshua Pforr, Magna Cum Laude
Seumas McLean, Magna Cum Laude
Jakob Greer, Cum Laude
Philip OÕNeill, Cum Laude
Cody Patriquin, Cum Laude

Jacques Gaspard, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Everett Bonner III, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Nicholas Robert, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Stephen Gaudin, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Ryan Aultman, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Adam Langlois, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Joshua Campesi, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Lyndon Wilbert, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
James Tate, Magna Cum Laude
Brandon Andrews, Magna Cum Laude
Alexander Pryor, Magna Cum Laude
Tyler Waddick, Magna Cum Laude

Matthew Berdon, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Andrew Ford, Gold Summa Cum Laude
Jason Marxen, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
David Tran, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Phillip Kerr, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Hagan Dalton, Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Andrew Schoonmaker, Magna Cum Laude
Christopher Alumbaugh, Magna Cum Laude
Joseph Bowers, Magna Cum Laude