20 Nov 2017

Congratulations To The CHS Swim Team – 2017 Division I State Runners-Up!

The CHS swim team finished as the Division I runners-up at the 2017 LHSAA State Swim Meet. The Final score was:

  1. Jesuit High School 455.5
  2. Catholic High School 373
  3. Northshore High School 168
  4. St. PaulÕs School 141
  5. Lafayette High School 138
  6. Duthtown High School 122
  7. East Ascension High School 104
  8. Baton Rouge Magnet High School 92
  9. Mandeville High School 84
  10. Archbishop Rummel High School 60

The Bears won three individual events. Sion Cavana won the 200 and 100 Freestyle and Mason Nyboer won the 500 Freestyle. NyboerÕs time of 4:33.76 replaced Colin Bone’s Õ16 time as the LHSAA Division I record. Junior Daniel Woodruff placed 2nd in the 500 Freestyle (4:34.09), which also broke the previous record. This is CavanaÕs 3rd and 4th individual state title, as he successfully defended both the 200 and 100 Freestyle titles from 2016. CavanaÕs 200 Freestyle time of 1:39.48 is an All-American consideration time.

Also scoring points for the Bears:

200 Medley Relay: 2nd place Grant Dawson, Tyler Mccullough, Daniel Woodruff and Landon Godso
200 Freestyle: 1st place Sion Cavana *All American consideration time, 5th place Mason Nyboer, 11th place Nicholas Domingue and 13th place William Kitto 
200 IM: 2nd place Daniel Woodruff, 10th place Jason Marxsen and 12th place Thomas Baxter
50 Freestyle: 4th place Grant Dawson and 12th place Cameron Richard
100 Fly: 8th place Blake Pizzolato, 14th place Garrett Accardo and 16th place Harrison Say
100 Freestyle: 1st place Sion Cavana, 8th place Grant Dawson and 13th place Landon Godso
500 Freestyle: 1st place Mason Nyboer *New Division 1 LHSAA Record, 2nd place Daniel Woodruff, 5th place Nicholas Domingue and 6th place William Kitto 
200 Freestyle Relay: 2nd place Sion Cavana, Landon Godso, Grant Dawson and Mason Nyboer
100 Backstroke: 8th place Harrison Say, 11th place Cameron Richard, 13th place Blake Pizzolato and 14th place Adam Werth 
100 Breaststroke: 2nd place Tyler Mccullough, 7th place Landon Godso, 9th place Jason Marxsen and 15th place Thomas Baxter
400 Freestyle Relay: 2nd place Daniel Woodruff, Mason Nyboer, Nicholas Domingue and Sion Cavana