01 May 2019

Eight CHS Students Place In State Literary Rally

Eight Catholic High School students scored high enough to place in the State Literary Rally held in April at LSU. More than 5,000 students from across the state qualified to participate in the rally.

Overall winners of the 44 State Rally literary events will be eligible to claim $500 cash scholarships that can be used at any accredited Louisiana-based college or university, public or private.

First, second and third place winners of the 46 State Rally academic events (divisions top scorers) will be awarded a medal and a certificate. Fourth and fifth place winners will be recognized for their accomplishments on the Louisiana High School Rally Association (LHSRA) website.

Final results for all State Rally events can be found here.

Catholic High School Winners

Advanced Math Pre-Calculus: 1st place, Overall Winner – Daniel Barfield
Algebra I: 1st place, Overall Winner – Carter Mayeux
Calculus I: 4th Place – Kyle Becnel
English IV: 1st Place – Carson Mack
Environmental Science: 4th Place – Jacob LeBlanc
Journalism: 3rd Place – Andrew Shea
Latin I: 2nd Place – Kyle Oubre
World History: 3rd Place – Nicholas Robert

Students Recognized For Performance In Open Events

French I Interpretive Reading John-Michael LeMaire Excellent
French II Interpretive Reading Michael Long Superior
French III Interpretive Reading Hays Burns Superior
French IV Interpretive Reading Kyle Becnel Excellent
French IV Interpretive Reading Sayer Sauviac Superior
Spanish I Interpretive Reading Jake Wyble Excellent
Spanish II Extemporaneous Speaking Brennan Campesi Superior
Spanish II Interpretive Reading Andrew Sellers Excellent
Spanish III Extemporaneous Speaking Daniel Barfield Average
Spanish III Interpretive Reading Nicholas Fanguy Average
Spanish IV Extemporaneous Speaking Ross DeNicola Superior
Spanish IV Interpretive Reading James Lalonde Superior
Music Girls Solo High Voice Kate Stanford Superior
Music Girls Solo High Voice Jolan Taylor Superior
Music Boys Solo Low Voice Lyndon Wilbert Superior
Music Girls Solo Low Voice Ava Dunn Superior
Music Girls Solo Low Voice Anna Leyer Superior