13 Sep 2017

Fifteen CHS Students Recognized By The National Merit Scholarship Program

Five Catholic High seniors have been named National Merit Semifinalists and 10 have received National Merit Commended honors in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. Roughly 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools across the nation entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The top 50,000 scorers qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship program.

Of those 50,000 students, the top one-third (approximately 16,000) qualifies as National Merit Semifinalist. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. CHS seniors qualifying as a Semifinalist are Ryan Aultman, Stephen Gaudin, Andrew Harris, Adam Langlois and Jason Marxsen. 

Ryan Aultman is the son of Aimee and Chad Aultman, and attended St. Aloysius School. Stephen Gaudin is the son of Anne Marie and Steve Gaudin, and attended St. Thomas More School. Andrew Harris is the son of Jennifer and Tim Harris, and attended St. Thomas More School. Adam Langlois is the son of Ann and Eric Langlois, and attended Sacred Heart of Jesus School. Jason Marxsen is the son of Allyson and Chad Marxsen, and attended Most Blessed Sacrament School. 

The remaining two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT qualify for National Merit Commended honors. The 10 CHS seniors to receive National Merit Commended honors are Thomas Brignac, Evan Dille, Michael Doran, Joshua Durnin, Samuel Gianfala, Jackson Haag, Gabriel Keowen, Khoivu Nguyen, Rees Romero and Jacob Routier. 

Thomas Brignac is the son of Shelley Dusek and Thomas Brignac, and attended Highland Junior High School. Evan Dille is the son of Stacy and Rob Dille, and attended St. George School. Michael Doran is the son of Michelle and Matthew Doran, and attended St. George School. Joshua Durnin is the son of Catherine and John Durnin, and attended St. Theresa of Avila School. Samuel Gianfala is the son of Jodi and Todd Gianfala, and attended Our Lady of Mercy School. Jackson Haag is the son of Dione and Shane Haag, and attended Glasgow Middle School. Gabriel Keowen is the son of Rene and Thomas Keowen, and attended Math, Science and Arts Academy West. Khoivu Nguyen is the son of Kimmai and Dan Nguyen, and attended St. Jude the Apostle School. Rees Romero is the son of Pegeen and Timothy Romero, and attended Sacred Heart of Jesus School. Jacob Routier is the son of Elise and Jeff Routier, and attended St. LukeÕs Episcopal Day School.

Congratulations to these outstanding young men.