29 Apr 2008

Golf Classic Draws 240 Participants

The 19th Annual CHS Alumni Golf Classic was held on Monday, April 21 at The Bluffs Country Club in St. Francisville. Sixty teams participated in the tournament and enjoyed a beautiful day of golf, great food and great fellowship.

Breakfast was provided by The Bluffs, Carrabba’s Italian Grill served lunch, Manda’s prepared sausage poboys during golf rounds and dinner was provided by Pete Hymel. The Niketown Gift Center was located on-site where golfers could shop with their $50 gift cards. There was a grand prize giveaway (Golf Trip to Craft Farms), a hole-in-one contest (Hawaiian Vacation), poker run ($200 cash) and a 21st hole where players competed to see who could get closest to the target located across Thompson Creek. There were two recorded hole-in-ones during the day!

Winners for the morning round in the Net Division were first place team of Duke Minton ’88, Brian Blanco, Kenny Keltner and Jake Berret ’84. Second place team of Michael Hebert ’93, Steven Hebert ’88, Richard Hebert and Josh Gunn. Third place team of Buddy Whitty, Jon LeBlanc, Mike Theriot and Alex Knight ’01.

Winners in the morning round Gross Division were first place team of Phillip Manchester, Cecil Manchester, Mark Manchester and Buddy Lindsey. Second place team of John Nikolaus ’98, Jim Nikolaus, Renee Cabellero and Anthony Napolitano. Third place team of Mike Ross, Randy Roberts, S.J. Saia ’72 and Frank Miller.

Afternoon Winners in the Net Division were first place team of Steve Panepinto ’70, Stan Barbier, Barry Bernhard ’70 and David DiVincenti ’70. Second place team of Steve Lousteau, Jeffrey Lousteau ’02, Matt Doiron ’92 and Adam Morgan. Third place team of Pete Mansur ’62, Michael Mansur ’93, Tommy Mansur ’74 and Edward Sutton ’93.

Afternoon winners in the Gross Division were first place team of Scott Hullinger ’75, Jay Jolly ’75, Ben Thompson ’75 and David Melancon. Second place team of Frankie Culotta ’79, Davis Dicharry, Jeff Booth and Jude Bernhard ’75. Third place team of Brick Wall ’66, Jason Wall ’85, Travis Wall ’89 and Trey Bradford ’89.

Winner of the Longest Drive for the morning round was Phillip Manchester and afternoon winner was Donn Peterson ’81.

Closet to the Pin winner in the morning round was Jake Berret ’84 and afternoon winner was Patrick Patrick ’82.

The Alumni Golf Classic committee was chaired by Steve Maher ’94. Title sponsor of the tournament was Arrighi Simoneaux Commercial Construction. Grizzly Sponsors were Amedisys, Cajun Industires, LLC, Capital One and McDonald’s.