18 Apr 2011

Lacrosse Players Honored at Banquet

In its annual recognition banquet last evening, the CHS Lacrosse team awarded The Beggataway award to Midfielder Gregory Normand.  The Beggataway award goes to that player who, by his actions on and off the field, best embodies the spirit and honor of the game and through his actions inspires his teammates to greater heights.  Greg Normand is that player.

Other players also received honors from the team and from the league.  Sean Averette received the íÍCoachesí´ Awardíñ for outstanding leadership.  Michael Beal received the íÍOffensive Player of the Yearíñ award for his contribution as an Attackman and Midfielder, Junior Goalie Kyle Robichaux received the Outstanding íÍDefensive Player of the Yearíñ award for his stellar play in goal, and  Sophomore Midfielder Hayden Case was recognized as the íÍFirst Year Impact Playeríñ for his accomplishments as a first year varsity player.

The Junior Varsity and Freshman teams also recognized two players each with their Most Improved Player awards and the Invictus awards.  The Invictus Award goes to that player who demonstrates an íÍUnconquerable Spirit.íñ  For the Junior Varsity team Baylor Schexnayder was awarded the Most Improved Player award and Micah Theriot was the recipient of the Invictus Award for 2011.  The Freshman team recognized Goalie Michael Ruiz as the Most Improved Player award and Midfielder, and Face-Off Specialist, Adrian Toranto as the 2011 recipient of the Invictus Award.

Darren Ball, Commissioner of the Louisiana High School Lacrosse League, was on hand to recognize those players that were voted by the league to the All-District Team.  The league recognized nine CHS players.  Sean Averette – All District Attack, Michael Beal í All District Midfield, George Troxell í All District Midfield, John Portwood í All District Long Stick Middie, and Kyle Robichaux í All District Goalie.  The LHSLL also recognized four seniors with Honorable Mention Awards.  Recipients were Defensemen Andrew Giorlando and Jake Wagner, Midfielder Tyler Hood, and Attackman Jake Guba.  These All District players have now earned the right to represent the East District in the annual All Star game on May 5th, in Lafayette.