15 May 2008

Class of 2008 Recognized at Honors Convocation

Hartman David Brunt was named outstanding graduate of the Class of 2008 at the annual Catholic High School Honors Convocation on May 15, 2008.

Other special award winners were Michael Perrin Tullier, Perfect Attendance; James Hanson Gilbert, Matthew Griffin Hiller, Crosby Mead Jurkiewicz, Michael Perrin Tullier, Nationally Recognized Finalists; Luis Batista Alexander, Matthew Stephen Berlinger, Cameron Pierce Breitenbach, Jacob Stephen Foy, Chad Michael Gremillion, Matthew Griffin Hiller and Tyler Scott Pecue, Principal’s Award for 4.0 grade point average Hartman David Brunt, American Legion; Ryan Anthony Lewis, Student Athlete; Knox Joseph Kelly, Service Award; Chad Michael Gremillion, Salutatorian; and Luis Batista Alexander, Valedictorian.

Extracurricular award winners were Daniel Vincent Cusimano, art; Kyle Edward Anderman, Bearly Published; James Walter Selent, Bruin; James William Parks III, drama; Crosby Mead Jurkiewicz, French; Jeffrey Paul Roussel, Hi-Y; Gordon Robert Newman, JCL; John Stevens Dietz, Key Club; Crosby Mead Jurkiewicz, Mu Alpha Theta; Knox Joseph Kelly, National Honor Society; Benjamin James Tuminello, Photography Club; Christopher Joseph Heroman, Quiz Bowl; Luis Batista Alexander, Spanish; and Anthony Charles Montes de Oca, Student Council.

Academic award recipients included Brett Joseph Carville, Art; Aaron James Caffarel, Band; Andrew Donnelly Ellender, Business Education; Gordon Robert Newman, Chorus; Kyle Matthew Babin, Computer Education; James Hanson Gilbert, English; James Hanson Gilbert, French; Cameron Pierce Breitenbach, Health and Physical Education; Christopher Joseph Heroman, Latin; James William Parks III, Mathematics; Robert Louis Glueck, Religion; Hartman David Brunt, Science, James Hanson Gilbert, Social Studies; Jonathan Gardere Carter, Spanish.

Fifteen seniors were honored as CHS Men of the Year. This award recognizes seniors for their service, leadership and commitment to the school. Receiving this honor were Luis Batista Alexander, Matthew Stephen Berlinger, Hartman David Brunt, Aaron James Caffarel, Andrew Donnelly Ellender, James Hanson Gilbert, Matthew Griffin Hiller, Alex Nicholas Hurst, Knox Joseph Kelly, Michael Joseph Ledet, Todd Garrett Lee Jr., Ryan Anthony Lewis, Austin Kyle Nola, William Wallace Pecue III and Jeffrey Paul Roussel.

Two hundred and seven seniors will participate in the Baccalaureate Mass and One hundred twelfth Commencement Exercises on Saturday, May 17, 2008 at 6 p.m. at the Baton Rouge River Center Arena.