17 Feb 2008

Over 100 Former CHS Baseball Players Participate in Reunion Weekend

More than 100 former Catholic High baseball players from seven decades gathered February 15 and 16 for the first CHS Alumni Baseball Reunion baseball game.

The activities began on Friday, February 15 when 120 alums and friends met for lunch at Drusilla Catering Place Ballroom to hear CHS Alumnus Mel Didier, former coach of the CHS State Baseball Team and currently scout for the Texas Rangers, speak.

Alums gathered again on Friday night for a baseball alumni stag player draft at the Law Offices of Moore, Walters, Thompson. Brandon Kling, who flew in from Australia, was the first pick in the draft. The weekend concluded Saturday evening with the baseball game at 5:30 p.m. under the new baseball field lights.

More than 50 baseball alums from 1940’s to 2006 played in the game. Players returning included David Dellucci, left fielder for the Cleveland Indians; Kurt Ainsworth, former pitcher for the San Francisco Giants, LSU and USA Gold Medalist in baseball; Kevin Ainsworth, LSU player; Patrick Coogan, LSU pitcher on National Championship Team and former minor league pitcher with the St. Louis Cardinals; Chris Demouy, LSU player; Brian Daugherty, LSU National Championship Team; Tommy Day, member of the first CHS baseball team in 1944; D.R. Atkinson, 1953 State Championship Team member; and Joey Thibodeaux, 1976 State Championship Team member; to name a few.

Before the start of the alumni game, members of the 1953 and 1976 State Baseball Championship teams were honored along with past head baseball coaches Didier and Don Trahan. Members of the 1953 team in attendance were D.R. Atkinson, Bill Barfield, Tommy Barfield, Bill Bourdier, Gaius Ackman(representing deceased brother, Al), James ‘Cooter’ Zimmerle, Coach Melvin Didier, Bill McGraw, Auburn Bryant and Jerry ‘Buck’ Miller.

Member of the 1976 team in attendance were Guy Hopkins, Brian Eidt, Dale Songy, Joey Thibodeaux, David Butler, Mike Atkinson and Brent St. Blanc.

Chairing the event was Chris Jones. Committee members included Keith Constantino, Patrick Coogan, Hillar Moore, Antoine Simon, Josh Ebey, CHS Alumni Director Glen Randow and CHS Events Coordinator Barbara Camp.

The Catholic High Office of Alumni Relations sponsored the event along with the CHS Alumni Association.