20 May 2010

Seniors Receive Awards at Honors Convocation

Matthew Scott Daigle was named outstanding graduate of the Class of 2010 at the annual Catholic High School Honors convocation on May 20, 2010. 

Other special award winners were David Keith Barnett, Eric Cramer Bordlee, Jordan Alexander Boudreaux, Matthew Scott Daigle, Raymond David DeCuir, Casey Ellis Fitzerald, Christopher David Knotts Focht, Robert William Gates, Russ Michael Guidry Jr. and Taylor George Sanford, National Merit Finalists; Jordan Alexander Boudreaux, Matthew Scott Daigle, Raymond David DeCuir, Casey Ellis Fitzgerald, Christopher David Knotts Focht, John Paul Luckett III, Nicolas Grant Moreau, Andrew Mark Robichaux, Jonathan Blake Sciortino, Steven Brian Spedale Jr., Michael Paul St. Blanc, Charles Francis Weimer, Principalí´s Award for a 4.0 grade point average; John Paul Luckett III, Student Athlete; Joseph Jesse Gipson, Service Award; John Paul Luckett III, American Legion; Casey Ellis Fitzgerald, Salutatorian; and Christopher David Knotts Focht, Valedictorian.

Extracurricular award winner were Charles Francis Weimer, Art Club; Andrew Christian Carmichael, Bearly Published; Sean Michael Saxon, Bruin; Charles Joseph Duhe III, Drama Club; Raymond David DeCuir, French Club; Andrew Blake Loreno,  Hi-Y Club; Kurt David Ristroph, Junior Classical League; Brett Joseph Falgoust, Key Club; Matthew Scott Daigle, Mu Alpha Theta; Luis Felipe Coläóîn IV, National Honor Society; Tyler James Gautreau, Photography Club; Luis Felipe Coläóîn IV, Spanish Club; and Trenton Christopher Ball, Student Council.  

Academic award winners included Charles Francis Weimer, Art; Nathan Edward Bush, Band; Frank Joseph Turk, Business/Computer Education; Andrew Blake Loreno, Chorus; Christopher David Knotts Focht, English; Raymond David DeCuir, French; Joseph Jesse Gipson, Health and Physical Education; James William Thomas, Latin; Nathan Edward Bush, Mathematics; Joel Daniel Broussard, Religion; Raymond David DeCuir, Science; Matthew Scott Daigle, Social Studies; and Stephen Brian Spedale Jr., Spanish.

Seventeen seniors were named CHS Men of the Year.  They are Trenton Christopher Ball, Anthony Michael Brock, Joel Daniel Broussard, Luis Felipe Coläóîn IV, Matthew Scott Daigle, Casey Ellis Fitzgerald, Joseph Jesse Gipson, Phillip Ray Gordy II, Russ Michael Guidry Jr., Bret Matthew Jackson, Benjamin Stanley Jumonville, Jacob Nicholas Larpenteur, Michael Cullen Love, John Paul Luckett III, Adam Joseph Pfefferle, Christopher Douglas Weimer and Gerard John Zimmerman III.

Two hundred and forty-one seniors will participate in the Baccalaureate Mass and One hundred fourteenth Commencement Exercises on Saturday, May 22, 2010 at 6 p.m. in the Baton Rouge River Center Arena.