09 Sep 2020

Seven CHS Students named Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit® Scholarship Program

Pictured above: CHS Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Competition (from left): Benjamin Mayeaux, Noah Hixson, Brennan Campesi, Christian Thompson, Bailey Faulk, Adam Grissom, and Jacob LeBlanc.

BATON ROUGE, LA – September 9, 2020 – Catholic High School administrators are proud to announce that seven CHS seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists for 2021. On Wednesday, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced CHS seniors Brennan Campesi, Bailey Faulk, Adam Grissom, Noah Hixson, Jacob LeBlanc, Benjamin Mayeux, and Christian Thompson were selected to compete for National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million. Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2021.

“We are incredibly proud of these students for such a tremendous scholastic achievement,” said CHS Principal Lisa Harvey. “It is through this type of academic excellence that these young men are truly living the mission of Catholic High School in accordance with tradition and the spirit of the Brothers of the Sacred Heart.”

Campesi, Faulk, Grissom, Hixson, LeBlanc, Mayeux, and Thompson are among the highest-scoring entrants with Louisiana’s number of semifinalists proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® Award, semifinalists must submit a detailed application including information about their academic records, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards. Semifinalists must have outstanding grades throughout high school, write an essay, and be endorsed by a high school official.

Over 90 percent of the 16,000 semifinalists from across the nation are expected to attain finalist standing, with more than half of these individuals going on to win a National Merit Scholarship earning the title of Merit Scholar®, where they’ll join more than 353,000 other distinguished young people who have earned this prestigious title.

We would also like to commend the following students who will receive recognition in the 2021 National Merit® Scholarship Program (back row left to right): Michael Long, James Lauve, Broderick Wong, (front row left to right): Jacob Nguyen, Owen Gamble, and Peter Kelly.