22 May 2019

Students Recognized At The 2019 Honors Convocation

On May 16, 2019, Catholic High School recognized students for outstanding achievement at the 2019 Honors Convocation held at the LSU Union Theatre.

The following students were recognized:

Karsten Alexander Brown was named outstanding graduate of the Class of 2019.

Recognized as National Merit Finalists: Edward Grant Alumbaugh, Eli Paul Barbin, Everett James Bonner III, Allen Charles Duggar, Jack Thomas Fuselier, Reece Jackson Lantz, Jacob Young Limbocker, Carson McFarland Mack, Joseph Warren Lassiter Mengis and Nicholas Edward Robert.

Receiving the Principal’s Award for a 4.0 grade point average were Edward Grant Alumbaugh, Kyle Anthony Becnel, Everett James Bonner III, Christopher Lawrence Cronin, Hunter James Doiron, Jacob Young Limbocker, Harper Gerard Massey, Joseph Warren Lassiter Mengis, Nicholas Edward Robert, Sayer Donald Sauviac, Garrett Joseph Tassin, Jack Thomas Wilfert and Daniel Joseph Woodruff.

James Allen Lalonde was named Student Athlete; Francis Vu Dinh received the Service Award and was the American Legion Award recipient. The Valedictorian for the Class of 2019 is Kyle Anthony Becnel and the Salutatorian is Edward Grant Alumbaugh.

Extracurricular award winners were Art Club, Andrew Norton Shea; Bearly Published, Donald Jamal “DJ” Butler; Bruin, Connor Matthew Eisenbraun; Bruin Broadcast Network, Clarence Barton “Mack” Kemper IV; Drama Club, Jonathan Kramer “Jakob” Greer Jr.; Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Harper Gerard Massey; French Club, Paul Daniel Balhoff; Junior Classical League, Marshall Francis St. Amant; Mu Alpha Theta, Edward Grant Alumbaugh; National Honor Society, Jack Thomas Fuselier; Photography Club, Logan Christopher Wingerter; Spanish Club, Patrick Thomas Lemoine; Speech and Debate, Francis Vu Dinh; Student Ambassador, Hunter Joseph Antie; Student Council, Parker Lawless Stanford; Ultimate, Joseph Patrick Romero; and Youth and Government, Spencer Joseph Heitman.

Academic award winners included Art, Miles Gregory Aycock; Band, Sayer Donald Sauviac; Choir, Lyndon Paul Jude Wilbert; Engineering and Technology, Kevin Joseph Oubre; English, Joseph Warren Lassiter Mengis; French, Kyle Anthony Becnel; Health and Physical Education, Michael Voorhies Conger; Latin, Joseph Warren Lassiter Mengis; Math, Kyle Anthony Becnel; Religion, Hunter James Doiron; Science, Nicholas Edward Robert; Social Studies, Kyle Anthony Becnel; and Spanish, Jack Thomas Wilfert.

Fourteen seniors were named CHS Men of the Year. They are Hunter Joseph Antie, Everett James Bonner III, Karsten Alexander Brown, Donald Jamal Butler, Gregory Davis Cole, David Winters Culotta, Ross Joseph DeNicola IV, Francis Vu Dinh, Hunter James Doiron, Patrick Michael Herry, James Allen Lalonde III, Harper Gerard Massey, Sayer Donald Sauviac and Marshall Francis St. Amant.

To see entire photo gallery, click here.