06 May 2009

The Bruin Receives Third Place in LSPA Contest

The 2008 ‘Bear Meets World’ issue of the Catholic High School yearbook, The Bruin, received third place in the large ‘school division in the Louisiana Scholastic Press Association Contest. LSPA is a unit of the Manship School of Mass Communications at Louisiana State University. The 2007-2008 yearbook staff won 15 of the top 18 awards in the categories judged. Awards will be presented on September 30, 2009 at the annual LSPA conference to be held at LSU.

Individuals receiving awards were Jimmy Selent, first place in feature layout; Jacob Roberts, second place in feature layout; Jonathan Sciotino, third place in feature layout; Marlon White, first place in sports layout; Jordan Collier, second place in sports layout; DeJohn Richardson, first place in feature photography; Patrick McGehee, second place in feature photography; Ben Tuminello, first place in sports photography; James Gilbert, second place in sports photography; Patrick Richmond, third place in sports photography; Anthony Mabrey, first place in feature writing; DeJohn Richardson, second place in feature writing; Jordan Allen, first place in sports writing; Jimmy Selent, second place in sports writing; and Seth Maggio, third place in sports writing.

CHS moderators for The Bruin are Margaret Smith and Nancy Herin.